• Language

Westover Green Community School

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)


We provide children with a rich variety of teaching and learning experiences that are planned to meet the needs and interests of the individual children.   They are based on the three prime and four specific areas of learning, and the three learning characteristics, set out below: 


The prime areas of learning: 

Communication and Language

Physical Development

Personal, Social and Emotional Development 


The specific areas of learning:



Understanding of the World

Expressive Arts and Design  


The learning characteristics:

 Playing and exploring

 Active learning

 Creating and thinking critically